Chelsea: Mateo Kovacic and Fikayo Tomori won individual accolades

Chelsea announced its individual awards for the last season performance. Mateo Kovacic of Croatia and England International Fikayo Tomori earned the awards at Cobham. Team coach Lampard and Cesar Azpilicueta awarded the honors. Players thanked the supporters for the valuable votes while accepting the award.

Every year the awards were presented at the annual Chelsea Awards ceremony at the end of the season. In the circumstances of the Covid-19 epidemic and late-season showdown, the award function was canceled and decided to hand over during the training session at Cobham. Lampard and Azpilicueta handed out the trophies to Kovacic and Tomori respectively.

Kovacic was selected for the prestigious award by the fans from a delayed 2019/20 season. Club sponsors Yokohama Tyres presented the Player of the Season award. The Croatian was moved last season from Real Madrid on a loan but made a permanent deal with the Blues last summer.

Even though as a loan, he appeared 47 times for the club over the course of the last season. Applause to his high-quality performance that forced the club to play him rather than it’s regular players. He should be given credit for finding a stable position at midfield. He finds his first goals for the London club against Spanish team Valencia and Premier League foes, Everton, in November in consecutive weeks.

He gave a strong impression to the loyal Chelsea fans when he displayed two standout performances against another London rival club Tottenham, which elevated his popularity among the fans.

Tomori’s masterclass strike at Wolverhampton Wanderers stadium was voted by fans as the Goal of the Season, presented by Rexona, and Club captain Cesar Azpilicueta delivered the recognition.

The goal was undoubtedly eye-capturing, as the Chelsea defender and Academy product took a strike that kissed inside the top corner of the Wolves net. It was the first-ever goal that he managed to score for the club. The match which was progressed with Chelsea winning by 5-2 at Molineux.

The award presentation follows with Bethany England and Billy Gilmour for the Women’s Player of the Season and Academy Player of the Season respectively.